First harvest of the year

It is tax day for everyone. It is also the last frost day for our area. My family celebrated by harvesting from the garden.

We harvested some early scarlet radishes, mustard greens, and some lettuce mix. All were planted a month ago.

First radish harvest of the year.

First radish harvest of the year.

My youngest helped pull the radishes out of the ground. Once he pulled one, he very enthusiastically pulled out the rest (after I told him only to pull the ones where he could see the tops of the globes). He was amazed we were pulling something out of the dirt that we could eat. I’ve never grown root crops before so I, too, was very excited to be pulling something out of the dirt we could eat.:) I planted more radish seeds in the spots where we pulled these out.

Unfortunately, my youngest didn’t like the taste of them. I hope he will be as helpful when it comes times to do more harvesting since these weren’t too his liking. My eldest and myself thought they were delicious. Not too spicy and nice and crisp. At least he will help with harvests!

Black mustard greens, radish greens, and something from the European Mesclun Mix.

Black mustard greens, radish greens, and something from the European Mesclun Mix.

I didn’t harvest much greens from the garden. I cut several mustard greens leaves, a leaf from each mesclun mix plant, and the green tops from the radishes. I didn’t make a salad from it. I just did a greens-from-the-garden tasting with myself and my boys (my husband doesn’t like green veggies so I didn’t involve him). What you see in the photo is what was left from the taste testing. All the greens were very spicy. My boys didn’t like them. I think they’d be great mixed in a salad with less spicy greens to tone it down. I love cooked mustard greens and am looking forward to harvesting enough to cook.

UPDATED to add: My husband tried the greens and liked them. Said they were “interesting”. Also, after posting this I harvested a couple small borage leaves to try. My husband didn’t like them said they tasted like fish. I think I could see where he got the impression of fish. The mildly cucumber taste did have a slight fish undertone.

I hope everyone else was able to find something good and fun to do today (besides taxes)!

-Lorelei

Categories: garden | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

