Research Materials

I’ve been doing a lot of reading and research, and sometimes watching, pretty much everything I can find about homesteading: urban homesteading, beekeeping, root cellaring, etc.

Some mentionables are:

The Urban Homestead. I can’t get enough of watching this YouTube video. I’d love to be able to transform my whole property into something like this. The family has a website called UrbanHomestead.org.

GardenPool.org. A fascinating website about homeowners who turned their backyard pool into a aquaponics and hydroponics greenhouse with chickens. Some really great ideas.

The Edible Front Yard by Ivette Soler. She has some great ideas for making an edible front yard be aesthetically pleasing. She only mentions road contaminants in passing by saying to wash your food off.

The possibility of pollutants is why I’m not growing edibles in my front yard. I thought the contimination goes into the soil, too. After more research it seems you can grow edibles in your front yard, but should do it in raised beds due to possible lead contamination in the soil.

The Backyard Homestead by Carleen Madigan. An okay book. Some good ideas, but not much follow through on them. Maybe it was just the formatting of the e-book version I read, but I found it difficult to read.

The Complete Idiots Guide to Urban Homesteading by Sundari Elizabeth Kraft. I really enjoyed this book and found it very informative. I’m such a newbie when it comes to homesteading that this book really spoke to me. She goes into homesteading in an apartment or small lot, using your front yard or any space you can find. And talks about using community gardens to homestead if you don’t have any space. Good recipes for DYI cleaning supplies, too.

Urban Homesteading by Rachel Kaplan. A good book and website. A lot of good permaculture ideas in this book. And more emotionally written than the Complete Idiots book.

Beekeeping for Dummies by David Wiscombe. This book was imformative, but only talks about keeping bees in one type of hive. I’d like to learn about the other types, too. It mainly talks about beekeeping in England and only mentions problems facing American beekeepers in passing.

When looking for this book to link to on Amazon I saw several other versions of this book I’m going to have to read, like Beekeeping for Dummies by Howland Blackiston.

The Backyard Beekeeper by Kim Flottum. This book has recipes (soaps, lotions, lip balms, food) for using your beeswax and honey. I enjoyed reading this more than the Dummies book.

Root Cellaring by Mike and Nancy Bubel. Not finished with this book, yet. But really inspiring so far. And so many good ideas. It goes into how best to store each crop, what to do about spoilage, and different cellar designs.

Food Gardens for Defense by M.G. Kains. An old book, published in 1942, that I picked up at some point in my past. (I don’t remember acquiring it.) It talks about growing your own food during wartime-to help be a good citizen. It has good ideas that I see still being mentioned now days. And it is a fascinating read just from a historical perspective.

As I read more I’ll update this list, so check back periodically.

-Lorelei

Categories: homestead | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

