Help me identify this tree?

Now that I taking a good look at my yard I’m trying to identify all the plants and trees. I’m having a hard time identifying this tree in my front yard. This Arbor Day Foundation site says it is a black walnut (like I’d be so lucky), but I’ve never seen nuts on this tree. So, I don’t think it is one.

Unidentified tree.

Unidentified tree.

Leaves of the unidentified tree.

Leaves of the unidentified tree.

Undersides of the leaves of the unidentified tree.

Undersides of the leaves of the unidentified tree.

Close up of leaf.

Close up of leaf.

Bark of unidentified tree.

Bark of unidentified tree.

Another pic of the bark.

Another pic of the bark.

There is not one trunk. It splits into three trunks about 6-12 inches above ground.

I keep winding up with Elm, Ash, Hickory, Yellowtree, or Walnut as the tree. But none of them quite match. My husband is joking that we have a mutant tree.

I have found some interesting websites for identifying trees for future research. They are:

Thanks in advance for your help!
-Lorelei

Categories: homestead | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Help me identify this tree?

  1. Looks like a Black walnut tree based off identification of the leaves and comparison to other pictures of the same tree

    Like

  2. Thank you! I would love for it to be a black walnut. I actually could afford the space in my front yard for it to be one. And it would make sense since nothing but weeds wanted to grow under it. Its just that I’ve never seen any flowers, catkins, or nuts on it. P.S. I updated the post with a close up of the leaves and a better pic of the bark.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

