Garden growth

The garden is loving this warm May weather! Most everything is growing so big. And some plants have finally germinated!

Garden growth

Garden growth. The big bushy stuff just left of bottom center is turnips.

The mustard grew about a foot seemingly overnight and now has flower buds on it. Which is fine since I want seeds from it.

Black mustard.

Black mustard. That green doppled stuff at the bottom of the picture is from looking through the mesh netting I have over the garden.

Peanuts

Peanuts

The peanuts don’t seem to have been hurt by being pulled up by the neighbor’s chickens and then replanted. In fact, I’m going to have to thin this out. I’ve read you only need one plant per square foot. So there are now too many in this space. I hate thinning out plants–feels a bit like murder to me. But gotta do it.

Celery

Onions, bell pepper (behind the onions), sweet potato (the purple and green leaves), and spinach (lower right). Hanging over the sweet potato (barely seen in this photo) is marigold and nasturtium.

Spinach and Mesclun mix.

Spinach, mesclun mix, and carrots. Peanuts and peas in the background.

The lettuces are getting big. After taking this picture I cut some for making salad for dinner tonight.

Russet potatoes

Russet potatoes. Borage in the background. That little bit of purplish red to the lower left is red romaine shaded by the rutabaga and turnip leaves.

I’m mounding soil around the potatoes as they grow. Next year I’m going to build potato boxes and not grow them in the garden bed.

Red cabbage

Starting from the left: borage, red cabbage, rutabaga (right and up just a bit from the cabbage), red potatoes (below the rutabaga/ lower right of the picture).

Beets

Beets and swiss chard

My beets don’t seem to be doing too good. I’m hoping that now that the mesh is up, whatever was getting it will stop.

Onions

Bell pepper and onions. Spinach, beets, and mustard in the background.

Carrots

Little carrots. The only photo not taken through the green mesh.

Not showing in the photos are the celery, cucumber, strawberry, and spearmint seedlings. I’ve been trying since January (indoors) to get most of those to germinate. I guess maybe my soil wasn’t warm enough. Next year I think I’ll put a warmer under my seed starting trays.

-Lorelei

Categories: garden, raised garden bed | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

