Turnip greens…yum!

I harvested two turnips and their greens from the garden today. The greens smelled wonderful straight from the garden. Unfortunately, the turnips were small (today was 62 days from the day I planted the seeds). So I’m going to give the rest more time to grow bigger in the garden. And hopefully not get woody.

I love eating turnip greens at restaurants, but have never made it before. After some searching online I found a recipe for southern-style turnip greens on VegWeb that looked simple and tasty. I didn’t have all the ingredients so I changed it just a little bit (using suggestions from the site’s comments) and it came out tasting great, in my opinion. One of my kids liked it and my husband said he’d eat it again (which I’ll take as a compliment). I’m not a great cook. So when three out of four people eat what I cook, I consider it a success.

Here is the recipe and my modifications:

  • 1 tsp oil (I used olive oil)
  • 1 small onion, chopped (I used 1/2 a small onion since I didn’t have as much greens as the recipe called for)
  • 1 small turnip, chopped (I used both turnips since they were so small)
  • 3 pieces tempeh bacon, crumbled (I used Morningstar bacon, chopped up, since I didn’t have tempeh bacon)
  • 1-8oz bunch turnip greens, woody stems removed, chopped (I kept the stems since mine weren’t all that woody, just chopped them up with the rest. I’m not sure how much greens I used. It was from two turnips and I didn’t weight it.)
  • 6-8 c water (I didn’t measure the water, just put in enough to cover the greens)
  • 3 cloves garlic (I used only one)
  • 1 tbsp. liquid smoke (didn’t use this since I didn’t have it)
  • salt, cayenne pepper, white pepper, and vinegar to taste (I added salt and black pepper and used a Red Wine Vinaigrette instead of vinegar)

I put the oil in a 3qt saucepan and sautéed the onion, turnip, bacon, and garlic until the onion became transparent. Then I added the greens and poured in enough water to cover them. I added a dash of salt and pepper and brought it to a boil. The directions say 20-30 minutes. I let mine boil for 30 minutes. Then I scooped some out onto plates and sprinkled some of the vinaigrette on it.

The only complaint, from the people who liked it, was that the bacon didn’t have a great texture after being boiled.

Just in case no one liked the turnip greens I, also, prepared a salad from lettuces, radishes and radish greens, and spinach from the garden. Everyone ate that and said it was good.

Feels good feeding my family from the garden.

Oh, and if you have a favorite recipe for turnip greens, I’d love to try it. Thanks!

Sorry no pictures this post.

-Lorelei

Categories: garden, homestead, recipe | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

