Garden happenings

Plants are flowering, fruits are growing, and roots are being harvested. I love how my garden is developing. Some plants I was really wanting to flower flowered, others I was hoping would hold off a bit longer flowered. But it’s all good!

Blueberries

Blueberries

Blackberries

Blackberries

Two of the blueberry bushes are covered with blueberries. And look at all those blackberries! I’m going to have to throw the net over the berry patch soon to protect these. Might just do that today when it stops raining. Oh, and the raspberries, too!

Raspberries

Raspberries

Baby lemons

Baby lemons

After all that flowering my meyer lemon did I have only 5 baby lemons growing. I read recently that having another meyer lemon could increase production. Now I’m thinking of getting another. Crazy? Nah!

Baby cherry tomatoes

Baby cherry tomatoes

I’m super excited to see these baby cherry tomatoes growing. Last time I tried growing tomatoes they didn’t start to fruit until later in the season and unfortunately didn’t ripen before first frost. The aphids have discovered the tomato. I’ve been picking them off, but just today saw a ladybug on it! Go ladybug! Eat those aphids!

Pea flowers

Pea flowers and look at those huge cabbage leaves to the right!

Pretty pea flowers. Hoping to see pea pods growing soon! The kids loved the peas last time we grew them a couple years ago. These are the shelling peas type.

Flax flower

Flax flower and red nasturtium in the background.

Growing a little flax this year just to see how it grows, what the seed production is like, and how the fiber can be worked. Depending on how this small patch does, next year I hope to plant more.

Potato flower

Potato flower

Potato flowers. I never really knew until recently that potato plants flowered. I’ve read potato flowers have nothing to do with potato production. Seeing flowers means the plant is healthy and doing good.

Spinach bolting

Spinach bolting

I’m sad the spinach is bolting already. But I knew it would happen. I staggered the plantings so I still have some I can harvest. But if that bolts quickly I can always plant more this fall.

Cilantro and mustard flowers

Cilantro and mustard flowers

Sad the cilantro is bolting already, but like with the spinach I knew it was going to happen. Now I get to wait for the seeds–coriander! And same with the mustard. I’m waiting for the seed pods on the mustard to turn tan or brown so I can harvest them, too.

Nasturtium flowers

Nasturtium flowers

I love the orange color of these, but then I also love the deep red of the one you see in the background in photo of the flax bloom. I know the blooms are edible, but haven’t wanted to pick any of these pretty flowers, yet.

And speaking of edible flowers, look at these borage blooms below. I love that blue color. I haven’t eaten these, either, just too pretty!

Borage flowers

Borage flowers

Turnips

Turnips

I harvested the last of the turnips and the last of the radishes. They weren’t super huge, but the size was decent. According to the plant rotation guides I should plant a fruiting plant in those spots next. Hmmm…I think a trip to the nursery is due. Maybe a pumpkin? Or an acorn or butternut squash?

-Lorelei

Categories: blackberries, blueberries, flowers, garden, garden protection, homestead, ornamentals, pantry, Prepardness, raspberries | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

